After a wait for the result of the race winner, Sam Bird was the provisional winner of the race but he was under investigation as he collided with Andre Lotterer on the final lap. The action which the stewards gave was a 5-second penalty which shifted Edoardo Mortara to first place.

This race was a wet race as it was pouring down which meant that track was covered in puddles and the track has to be dried out a few times. It was raining between the group qualifying and the Super Pole sessions but the skies managed for the race.

This race has Stoffel Vandoorne as pole position which was his first pole position and it was the teams first. This didn’t last long in the race as he had pressure from Oliver Rowland. So far, it looked like Oliver Rowland was going to lead the race till the end.

On lap 3, was saw a car pile up with Felipe Nasr’s Dragon and both Mahindra cars which eventually brought out our first brought out the safety car which then lead to the race being red-flagged completely.

The race restarted, with some added which was was 10 minutes of time which make up for the delay and restart leaving 38 minutes remaining of the race.

At the race restart, both of the Mahindra drivers who had to start from the back of the grid accidentally were forced into Nasr as they struck into the wall at turn 2. There were a few people was dishearted such as the teams, drivers and their fans.

Stoffel Vandoorne suffered during the red flag, He had lost yet another place to Andre Lotterer, who on a mission to take second place from Sam Bird.

Oliver Rowland’s lead ended just a few minutes later, as there was an incident which he accidentally activated the Full Course Yellow constraint setting on his steering wheel by accident which meant slowing his car down on the track.

Moments after the Oliver Rowland incident, the newly second-placed Lotterer took advantage by an error which from Bird which lead the both of them colliding at turn 2 and Sam Bird taking the win.

Edoardo Mortara finished in second ahead of Lucas Di Grassi, Robin Frijns came fourth, Daniel Abt came fifth, Felipe Massa came in sixth, Mitch Evans arrived at the finish line in seventh, Gary Paffett arrived in eighth, Oliver Turvey arrived as ninth and Antonio Felix Da Costa rounding out the top ten in tenth.

It was all settled until the stewards decided to look into Sam Bird and Andre Lotterer’s collision. The act which was eventually settle was the 5-second penalty which resulted in Sam Bird losing his win and Edoardo Mortara who came in second was boosted up to first and Lucas Di Grassi became second the last podium place was Robin Frijns, feel free to correct me on that last one.

The race results can be found at . 


Leave a Reply