Max Verstappen takes his second Formula 1 win, with victory in the final Malaysian Grand Prix. He finished ahead of Lewis Hamilton and Daniel Ricciardo, Fourth place went to Sebastian Vettel.

Valtteri Bottas had been busy trying to sweep past the Red Bulls around the outside of turn 1. He succeeded in passing Daniel Ricciardo.

Hamilton’s battery problem wasn’t getting any better. On lap 4 Verstappen duly pounced, able to use DRS to take the lead down the inside of turn 1. The British driver attempted to fight back, but soon slipped out of DRS range.

From his starting position at the back of the grid, Sebastian Vettel had quickly worked his way through half the field.

Early pit stops for both of the Williams, and then for Vandoorne,  which soon boosted him up another three places.

Tyre wear was now an issue for the race leaders. Hamilton pitted first on lap 27, and managed to get  ahead of the Bottas/Vettel tussle.

Rounding out the top ten was Esteban Ocon.


1 Max Verstappen Red Bull 1:30.01.290
2 Lewis Hamilton Mercedes 12.770
3 Daniel Ricciardo Red Bull 22.519
4 Sebastian Vettel Ferrari 37.362
5 Valtteri Bottas Mercedes 56.021
6 Sergio Perez Force India 78.630
7 Stoffel Vandoorne McLaren 1 LAP
8 Lance Stroll Williams 1 LAP
9 Felipe Massa Williams 1 LAP
10 Esteban Ocon Force India 1 LAP
11 Fernando Alonso McLaren 1 LAP
12 Kevin Magnussen Haas 1 LAP
13 Romain Grosjean Haas 1 LAP
14 Pierre Gasly Toro Rosso 1 LAP
15 Jolyon Palmer Renault Sport 1 LAP
16 Nico Hulkenberg Renault Sport 1 LAP
17 Pascal Wehrlein Sauber 1 LAP
18 Marcus Ericsson Sauber 2 LAPS

Did not finish

Sainz Toro Rosso
Did not start
Raikkonen Ferrari turbo


Leave a Reply