Formula 1 has changed its numbering system for the corners at the Red Bull Ring ahead of the Austrian Grand Prix.

The circuit has been designated as having nine corners since it returned to the F1 calendar in 2014, in contrast to the 10 counted by MotoGP’s system – which classed the kink between Turn 1 and Turn 2 at the top of the hill as a bend.

For this year, the FIA has confirmed that it too will count the kink as a corner – meaning the tight right hander where Lewis Hamilton and Nico Rosberg collided last year will become Turn 3.

It means the Red Bull Ring now has a total of 10 corners.

The FIA  confirmed that there will be extra spacing between the orange ‘baguette’ kerbs that caused drama last year when a number of cars suffered damage after hitting them.

These kerbs will be fitted on the exits of the new Turns 6, 9 and 10 – but they will now be 3.2 metres apart.

Deeper tyre barriers have also been built at Turns 4, 7 and 8, while Tecpro barriers have been added around the guardrail at the pit entry in light of Daniil Kvyat’s near-miss last year (Who remembers that, I do).

Leave a Reply